The carnivorous animals are all those animals that base their diet on meat, we also consider insects and plants that eat meat to be carnivores. Animals that eat plants are called herbivores and those who have a varied diet are called omnivores.

The lion is part of the carnivorous animals
The lion is part of the carnivorous animals


Carnivorous animals feed on animal tissues, whether they are alive or dead. They are divided into two categories, depending on how they get their food, there are those who hunt (Predators) and those who prey on dead animals (Scavengers).

The most remarkable characteristic is its digestive tract, as it is smaller than that of other species, it helps the meat not rot while it is being digested. They all have parts of their body that are specialized for hunting or eating. Claws that are used to tear, strong and muscular legs to run, a jaw with teeth to chew, fangs to tear and grindstones to grind, etc.


They are all those animals that hunt their prey to eat them, normally herbivores, they usually chase them or attack them from a hiding place to surprise them.


They are those carnivores that feed on the remains of dead animals either naturally or hunted by another animal.

Types of carnivorous animals

There are three types of carnivorous animals on how much their carnivorous diet is based on.

  • Strict carnivores: They are those that eat meat only and exclusively, since they lack organs to digest plant foods, such as tigers.
  • Flexible carnivores: They are those who eat meat regularly but their body can digest plant foods in small quantities.
  • Occasional carnivores: They really are omnivorous animals, but due to a lack of plants, fruits, etc. they are forced to eat insects or carrion.

List of carnivorous animals

Acara electric blue

andean cara pulcher is acara blue (Andinoacara beautiful) is a little fish That many people collect in their fish tanks, there is a good reason, its Latin name, pulcher, means beautiful. These little aquatic animals captivate any fish tank.

The axolotl is a popular amphibian in fish tanks. Albinos are bred in captivity.


axolotl is axolote (Ambystoma Mexicanum) is a amphibian type of salamander which has the rare trait of retaining its larval characteristics throughout its adult life. This condition, called neotenia, means that it maintains its tadpole-shaped dorsal fin, which runs almost the length of its body, and its feathery external gills, which protrude from the back of its broad head.

The albatross spends most of its life flying.


albatross (Diomedeidae) is a marine feathered giant which has the longest wingspan of all birds wild, the wandering albatross is the largest of about two dozen different species.

electric eel

electric eel

electric eel (Electrophorus electricus) it is an aquatic animal native to the waters of South America (Orinoco and the Amazon River). They have the ability to produce a 500-volt electrical discharge at a distance of approximately 76 meters in calm water. Its discharge is so powerful that it damages any heavy mammal, it can even cause its death, as narrated by Alexander von Humboldt, a famous explorer of the XNUMXth century, who witnessed how horses received such strong shocks throughout their bodies that they died instantly .

Brunette in profile

Moray eel

We can appreciate the white fur of the ermine in winter.


ermine (Mustela Erminea) is a small mustelid, so it is related to the weasel and the otter. It has an orange body, a black tipped tail, and a distinctive gait. They can be found in meadows, heaths and forests. It is also known as the short-tailed weasel.